Milford schools

Milford Schools varsity-athletes honored at statewide banquet


PLANTSVILLE, CT – After two years of recognition at virtual celebrations due to the coronavirus pandemic, 350 outstanding varsity-athletes from each member school of the Connecticut Interscholastic Athletic Conference were honored Sunday at the 39th Annual College Awards Banquet. academics-athletes at the Aqua Turf Club.

The winners from Milford-based high schools were:

  • Foran: Megan McTigue, David Gaetano
  • Jonathan Law: Shelby Green, Thomas Brettauer
  • Lauraton Hall: Caroline Begg, Brooke Jones
  • Platt Tech: Jessica-Lois Quaynor, Joseph Moran

The Scholar-Athlete Program annually recognizes two high school students from each member high school whose academic and athletic careers have been exemplary, whose personal standards and achievements are a role model for others, and who possess high levels of integrity, self-discipline and of bravery. The event is the largest of the many honors programs that CAS-CIAC organizes each year. The winners are chosen by the member schools and are submitted to the CIAC.

Retired sportscaster Bob Picozzi was master of ceremonies for the 36th time. Former UConn basketball star Morgan Tuck, four-time national champion and WNBA pro for 5 years, gave the keynote address. Bridget Wright, an all-state cheerleader at Derby High School, has been officially honored as the recipient of the 2022 Michael H. Savage Spirit of Sport Award.

A full list of winners from all schools can be found here.

Source link